Email – The future!

Someone spammed me recently. Someone I’d only recently been in email contact with (for a sport I’m involved in). I complained that I get far too much spam already. His response was that I should get real ‘e-mail is the future.’ WTF! I’ve been emailing for over twenty years (having worked for a company at the forefront of computer technology) and have probably forgotten more about programming and protocols than he could even dream of discovering. The future? Pah!

But having been in at the birth of PCs (not even dos in those early days) I can’t claim to have kept up with new technology. I did that far better when I was working for someone else. Working for myself has meant time is precious and I’ve not allowed myself the luxury of keeping anywhere near up to date with what we can do with computers (from phones to servers).

I do miss that though and I do wish I had the time to develop the databases that I know could make the Murky Depths and Dead Girls websites (to name two) so much more user friendly. But we have to make do with what we can afford (that’s me typing away at my CSS, php and HTML oblivious to the interactive content that might bring in new customers and keep the current ones coming back).

But whatever can be done at websites, if no one knows about them and doesn’t visit them, they are a waste of electronic impulses.

Marketing, marketing, marketing. There’s no secret formula. Just luck.

And me? Luck’s never been a great companion.

2 Responses to “Email – The future!”

  1. Your friend is wrong in saying email is the future because it’s already here. And you’re right anything that’s not personal, anticipated, and relevant is spam. Just because it’s important to him that you see his message don’t mean it’s important to you.

Leave a Reply

